The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 52 members. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 118.

Each member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional allowance of \$3,400 and \$1,000 for expenses. There is also paid to each member a living allowance of \$15 for each day's attendance at the session and for each Saturday, Sunday or holiday that intervenes between two sittings of the House; the allowance of \$15 in any session is not paid in respect of more than 40 days. Each member also receives an allowance of 25 cents per mile of the distance between his place of residence and the city of Victoria, reckoning such distance, going and coming, according to the nearest mail route. In addition, the Premier receives a salary of \$15,000 and each member of the Executive Council \$12,500. The Leader of the Opposition has a special allowance of \$3,500 for expenses, the Speaker receives a special allowance of \$3,500 and the Deputy Speaker an allowance of \$1,000.

## 33.-Legislatures of British Columbia, 1937-60, as at Jan. 1, 1961

Norz.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 83, and for 1924-37 in the 1938 edition, p. 118.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 1, 1937 Oct. 21, 1941 Oct. 25, 1945 June 15, 1949 June 12, 1952 June 9, 1953 Sept. 19, 1956 Sept. 12, 1960	19th	5 4 5 4 1 4 4 4	Oct. 26, 1937 Dec. 4, 1941 Feb. 21, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950 Feb. 3, 1953 Sept. 15, 1953 Feb. 7, 1957 Jan. 26, 1961	July 22, 1941 Aug. 31, 1945 Apr. 16, 1949 Apr. 10, 1952 Mar. 27, 1953 Aug. 13, 1956 Aug. 3, 1960

<sup>1</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at Jan. 1, 1961.

## 34.-Twenty-Sixth Ministry of British Columbia, as at Jan. 1, 1961

(Party standing at latest General Election, Sept. 12, 1960: 32 Social Credit, 16 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, and 4 Liberal.)

Nore.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment <sup>1</sup>
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Finance. Provincial Secretary, Minister of Municipal Affairs, and Minister of Social Welfare Attorney General and Minister of Industrial Development, Trade, and Commerce Minister of Lands and Forests Minister of Lands and Porests Minister of Lands and Porests Minister of Highways. Minister of Highways. Minister of Habour and Minister of Education. Minister of Heabour and Minister of Education. Minister of Recreation and Conservation and Minister of Recreation and Conservation and Minister of Commercial Transport. Member of Executive Council without Port- folio.	Hon. William Andrew Cecil Bennett Hon. Wesley Drewett Black Hon. Robert William Bonner Hon. Ray Gilib Williston Hon. Francis Xavier Richter Hon. Fillim Kenneth Kirsnan Hon. Philip Arthur Gaglardi Hon. Leslie Raymond Peterson Hon. Leslie Raymond Peterson Hon. William Neelands Chant. Hon. William Neelands Chant. Hon. Earle Cathers Westwood. Hon. Buda Hosmer Brown	Aug. 1, 1952 Apr. 14, 1954 Nov. 28, 1960 Aug. 1, 1952 Aug. 1, 1952 Sept. 27, 1956 Aug. 1, 1952 Mar. 15, 1955 Sept. 27, 1956	Feb. 15, 1954 Mar. 20, 1959 Mar. 28, 1957 Feb. 28, 1950 Mar. 18, 1960 Mar. 15, 1955 Nov. 28, 1960 Mar. 20, 1959 Mar. 15, 1955 Nov. 28, 1960 Nov. 28, 1960

<sup>1</sup> Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.